Menu

Broadband Drop Outs

Why you should disable your router’s “idle time-out”

 

Many routers use the setting “idle time-out” or  “dial-on-demand” – different manufacturer’s use different names for the setting.  Regardless of the name, the result is the same; the Broadband service disconnects when you aren’t using the Internet and reconnects when you start using it again.

Given Broadband is designed to be “always-on”, and not charged by the minute, this setting has little benefit – but some routers use it by default. It’s therefore not surprising that a significant number of customers have this setting enabled.

See the full article here.

back to top